About the Bank

Governance and Organisation of the Bank


According to Article 161 of the Constitution of the Republic of Uganda, the authority of the Bank of Uganda shall vest in a Board which shall consist of a Governor, a Deputy Governor and not more than five other members.
The Governor and Deputy Governor are appointed by the President with the approval of Parliament.

They serve a five year term and are eligible for re- appointment.

The office of Governor and Deputy Governor shall each be a public office and the Governor and Deputy Governor shall respectively be Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of the Board of Directors.


The Board has vested the management and administration of the bank in:
1) Current Management Structure
2) Board Committees
3) Management Committees
4) Directorates and Departments

Please click on this link for Bank of Uganda's current macro- structure.